On the Third Date

Dance
Don’t kiss me as yet honey,
At least not right now.
I’m not ready for your body
To comb my thickets or tip my sensors,
Nor do I wish to learn the language
Of love, this early into knowing you.
We are still buds, little closed rings of petals
That still don’t know,
The art of cross-pollination,
Just two bodies in the wind, blowing inward.
I don’t want to kiss you as yet honey.
It’s because I don’t wish for any light
Between my guarded lips, to be sealed.
I fear that, what will transpire,
Would be the need of my perfectly-placed
Fig leaf to abscise and from there on,
I fear to navigate through your waters,
I am petrified I will not be able to drop my sail,
For your body, like a brilliant lighthouse,
Blinds every cone and rod,
That convene my ocular reception,
When I will be nothing except
A beast called cyclops, with one eye popping
Out inside his bulging pants, and while near-sighted,
Throwing himself to a whirlpool, your one,
For you to drown him, all of him,
In your underworld, in that torrential
Maelstrom that love ushers in.
And what else but love – even prematurely -, can sink
A cyclopean monster, while colluding to
Flare a pirouetting tempest,
Blowing through, you through me,
Until the beast inside comes squealing out.
Author: meandererworld (Dilantha Gunawardana)

Dr Dilantha Gunawardana is a molecular biologist who graduated from the University of Melbourne. He moonlights as a poet. His poems have been accepted/published in Forage, American Journal of Poetry, Kitaab, Eastlit and Ravens Perch. He mixes science with poetry for a living, when what matters is the expression of both DNA and words into something serendipitous. Although an Australian citizen, Dilantha is domiciled in Sri Lanka, his country of birth.

Leave a Reply

