Forest Whitaker

forest-w

And I tell you
Why I’m a black man from the south.

I see the eye of hate
What takes little rednecks with an amber beard
To bring me down, the sturdy ebony wood.
I don’t have a lazy eye, what science calls Amblyopia
Like Forrest Whittaker
But I have my charm for a big guy
With bigger shoes to fill.

I think of how excited Forest can
Be in seeing a girl, a Portuguese girl
Who has only one tongue, one presence
How her corolla lights up Forest.
I can read the Portuguese dictionary and not understand a word
And still know that one kiss
Is enough for a transposition of one feeling.

I cannot think of too many Forest Whitaker movies
But I am him. The man who is not blessed with good-looks
Or riches, or the panache of a martini glass
Just a little black olive
That will be bitten by one woman’s lips
For a true eternity.

And I will showcase my crab poetry
With my nib and write and write,
For my emancipation. The cotton pods
That will burst open like the cracks
In my heart, hemorrhaging my dirty black blood
And a man, who like Forest Whitaker
Never sold the skin deep and aged
An ore very few have.

How black ink still flows in punity;
Awaiting the fruits of my mutiny.

Published by

meandererworld (Dilantha Gunawardana)

Dr Dilantha Gunawardana is a molecular biologist, who graduated from the University of Melbourne. He moonlights as a poet. Dilantha wrote his first poem at the ripe age of 32 and now has more than 1700 poems on his blog. His poems have been accepted/published in Forage, Kitaab, Eastlit, American Journal of Poetry and Ravens Perch, among others. He was also awarded the prize for "The emerging writer of the year - 2016" in the Godage National Literary Awards, Sri Lanka for his first collection of poems (Kite Dreams – A Sarasavi Publication), while being shortlisted for the poetry prize. Dilantha is a dual citizen of Sri Lanka and Australia, and shares his experiences from two different cultures. He blogs at - https://meandererworld. wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

