You and I

006_postgrad_cover

You and I live in separate countries,
Separate sovereignties, you have different borders
To which I live by, your idea of religion
Is praying to God as loud as the Pharisees did
Using “God Bless You” to end every conversation you have
Doing Novenas every Wednesday, all show,
No substance. Whereas I live by Jesus’s life
The honorary deeds we call kindness
The dearth of tones, creed, ethnicities,
The Samaritan who condones my enemy
And the Levi who invites me for a meal.
And now we will die in separate lands
You with your riches, your success, your show-it-all
Lifestyle that leaves nothing to the imagination.
Whereas I have lived with the thorns of my stalk
The weights on my ankles, the weeds in my mind
And the love of a woman who cannot look me in the eye
And tell me “honey I’m lying to you every passing day”.
And we will not be grazing on the same afterlives
I’m not clairvoyant to tell you where you and I
Will levitate to, perhaps heaven is a fabrication
And so is hell, perhaps we only feed saprophytes
After we are dead and our souls are not
Sent on a carousal till nirvana is within reach.
Maybe we will die with memories of a Judas’s kiss
Or Brutus’s blade; while I don’t hang on to pain
I cannot apprehend the buoyant apathy all around
Of how a race can capsize me in my own
Loneliness, my own worthlessness to the human race
And I will someday pass on to a place
Only God will know and you too, will transcend
Your life, and we will be then be strangers
Unknowing of each other’s destiny.
We are feathers to different winds, carried
Far and wide, until we cease to be kin
And the shoulder we shared, and the kiss that betrayed
The shoulder, will haunt you and me
As we linger to our own colorful sunsets. And when my sun
Dips to the ocean, I will only look at how spectacular
My life was, a caged bird, a man with thorns
Sticking to his skin, a leper of humanity
Hanging on to his truth in a valley of lies
Knowing the truth of one’s past
Can always erase the lies of one’s present and future.
We all sing our own tunes, some exaggerated
Some in low octaves, and some while dancing
And I sang my tune from my incarceration,
The bars that held me back. And all I ask from god
Is to give me my honor, of the man who took the road
Less travelled, and made love his only earthly quest,
Yet love too swindled him. All he has now
Is a stubborn heart with the will to live.
The will to claim his legacy, of a man
Who looked directly to the storm of a million lies,
And rowed through the pupil
Of the only truth.

Published by

meandererworld (Dilantha Gunawardana)

Dr Dilantha Gunawardana is a molecular biologist, who graduated from the University of Melbourne. He moonlights as a poet. Dilantha wrote his first poem at the ripe age of 32 and now has more than 1700 poems on his blog. His poems have been accepted/published in Forage, Kitaab, Eastlit, American Journal of Poetry and Ravens Perch, among others. He was also awarded the prize for "The emerging writer of the year - 2016" in the Godage National Literary Awards, Sri Lanka for his first collection of poems (Kite Dreams – A Sarasavi Publication), while being shortlisted for the poetry prize. Dilantha is a dual citizen of Sri Lanka and Australia, and shares his experiences from two different cultures. He blogs at - https://meandererworld. wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

