Honeymoon

book-and-heart

Through abundant butterflies
Flustering from the cavities within
I maneuvered my vessel to the safest of take offs
Still petrified of Murphy’s Law
And all the things that could crumble
Like a house of cards. Still I lingered
Like a cliff diver not knowing
The depth of the adjoining ocean, and as I took off
I realized love too was just nature’s scheme of events
A beautiful display of sequences that the body homes in on
Like an impatient butterfly to a flower
I found what infantries before me
Had venerated, even glorified.
The sky was brazenly beautiful
And I was a kite weaponized by the wind
The eakles were soon trembling in little quakes
Turbulence soon followed; yet throughout my journey
On foreign skies, I lingered in auto pilot
And there is nothing remotely
Strange when your body adjusts
To another and makes little excursions
Promenades from promontories
Auto-pilot was too surreal to embody,
Drifting to a carefree tonality, a cavalier in percussion
Until the sky came crashing to earth.
And there was no parachute
To hold me back.

Author: meandererworld (Dilantha Gunawardana)

Dr Dilantha Gunawardana is a molecular biologist who graduated from the University of Melbourne. He moonlights as a poet. His poems have been accepted/published in Forage, American Journal of Poetry, Kitaab, Eastlit and Ravens Perch. He mixes science with poetry for a living, when what matters is the expression of both DNA and words into something serendipitous. Although an Australian citizen, Dilantha is domiciled in Sri Lanka, his country of birth.

Leave a Reply

