To Wifi (From Husbanda)

bus_ticket_of_nepal_transport_service

I look at my wife
And she tells me my farts are smelly
And my tummy fat is too much
She tells me all the things wrong about me
Only to tell me what is right.

That I didn’t look back when I fell in love.
I jumped off the ledge as blind
As a bat and the echo location took
Me to where I was – a noisy place for the heart.
The echo making me jump
As soon as I see her.

Love is not a vestige here, nor primordial
It is new and forthcoming, and makes
Me value the little coupons she gives me.
The lip coupon, the snuggle pass
And the flesh ticket and what matters
Are the coupons I hold in my pocket
And transact when she is near.

And coupons are the strange accompaniments
That makes marriage, a give and take
A symbiosis of an elevated place
Where lips usher in body and flesh makes a little episode
Of soreness at all the right places
Simply abracadabra – sheer magic.

Published by

meandererworld (Dilantha Gunawardana)

Dr Dilantha Gunawardana is a molecular biologist, who graduated from the University of Melbourne. He moonlights as a poet. Dilantha wrote his first poem at the ripe age of 32 and now has more than 1700 poems on his blog. His poems have been accepted/published in Forage, Kitaab, Eastlit, American Journal of Poetry and Ravens Perch, among others. He was also awarded the prize for "The emerging writer of the year - 2016" in the Godage National Literary Awards, Sri Lanka for his first collection of poems (Kite Dreams – A Sarasavi Publication), while being shortlisted for the poetry prize. Dilantha is a dual citizen of Sri Lanka and Australia, and shares his experiences from two different cultures. He blogs at - https://meandererworld. wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

