Apathy

aaaaaa

Prophets come and go, they say
Some more visible than other, conspicuous

And lurking in Christian propaganda
And I’m not one such person.

I’m just a fighter of my own freedom
To be given a leveling field as everyone else

A blade as blunt as the judgment blade, others
Are subjected to, and frighteningly

I have survived 10 years of imprisonment now
For no wrong or sin of my own, only for a mere illusion of who I am

Whatever I am to you, beast or saint, or wild or meek
it is an accident, I’m no blue whale sprinkling lies

Just a lonely man swallowed by Moby Dick
A giant who took away my physical and mental privacy

And I’m shouting here not for ears of apathy
I’m just singing my own “amazing grace”

For god to listen. Not for my sins but for
The billions who imprison me

And live under the protection of the same privacy
That you steal from me and I’m no Peter

There are wolf skins everywhere I look
Pretending to be bleating lambs.

Author: meandererworld (Dilantha Gunawardana)

Dr Dilantha Gunawardana is a molecular biologist who graduated from the University of Melbourne. He moonlights as a poet. His poems have been accepted/published in Forage, American Journal of Poetry, Kitaab, Eastlit and Ravens Perch. He mixes science with poetry for a living, when what matters is the expression of both DNA and words into something serendipitous. Although an Australian citizen, Dilantha is domiciled in Sri Lanka, his country of birth.

Leave a Reply

