The Citrus Fruit

citrus_fruits

Sometimes I’m like a sweet orange
Happier than a child in Disneyland
And happiness is larger than life
Like a giant Pluto or a Mickey Mouse

At times, I’m a bitter orange
Seemingly bitter at how the world treats me
Like I’m driftwood that floats
From opinion to opinion
Swelled up by lies

Sometimes I’m a tangerine
Seemingly too orange in color – as my black box
Records blank thoughts, as doubt
Takes over like a Nimbus graveyard
Covering the sky

And meanwhile, like a pumelo
I have my streaks which make marmalade
Bittersweet and bipolar
Like happiness and sorrow
Are meant to mix in my crucible

And all I know is citrus are my moods
They come in all shapes and forms
As I pluck them from my tree top
And juice them inside a blender

To pour my emotions out
For all to drink…

Published by

meandererworld (Dilantha Gunawardana)

Dr Dilantha Gunawardana is a molecular biologist, who graduated from the University of Melbourne. He moonlights as a poet. Dilantha wrote his first poem at the ripe age of 32 and now has more than 1700 poems on his blog. His poems have been accepted/published in Forage, Kitaab, Eastlit, American Journal of Poetry and Ravens Perch, among others. He was also awarded the prize for "The emerging writer of the year - 2016" in the Godage National Literary Awards, Sri Lanka for his first collection of poems (Kite Dreams – A Sarasavi Publication), while being shortlisted for the poetry prize. Dilantha is a dual citizen of Sri Lanka and Australia, and shares his experiences from two different cultures. He blogs at - https://meandererworld. wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

