King Lear

che_guevara_by_adrienne_pl

Perhaps I’m wearing King Lear’s crown
With no sails or propellers or a lone oar to carry me through

And amidst the mutinies of my lobes
And hulls emptied of hope

And clarity draining through storm sewers
I will be the quintessential falling birdman

Madness will ransack my closet drawers
And leave with collections of clutter

Like a garbage bin filled to the brim
Where crows will sit on top and feast

And soon the clay pot on the scarecrow’s head
Will burst like a Claymore mine

And my pieces will scatter like sown rice grains
And the crows will sit and clap like royalty

As I’m dragged through the stage-front
In my curtain call to my own sanity

Author: meandererworld (Dilantha Gunawardana)

Dr Dilantha Gunawardana is a molecular biologist who graduated from the University of Melbourne. He moonlights as a poet. His poems have been accepted/published in Forage, American Journal of Poetry, Kitaab, Eastlit and Ravens Perch. He mixes science with poetry for a living, when what matters is the expression of both DNA and words into something serendipitous. Although an Australian citizen, Dilantha is domiciled in Sri Lanka, his country of birth.

Leave a Reply

