My Grandma – Mostly Fictional

Picture_0168

I left her at the window
Of the visitors’ gallery at the airport – on a wheelchair
Tears leeching through my eye sockets
And my pappadam face soggy with run-off
“I was never going to see her again this life”
A little voice told me……

And now every time I crunch into a pappadam
I remember her ailing face conjure a smile
Perhaps she knew what was to come
I though knew – that her sunset was not far

And now when I look at the full moon
I reminisce my pappadam face that fated day
As she took a piece of my cheek – never to return
A bite of my still-crispy pappadam skin
Without realizing how salted it was
How salting it would be in memory’s hold

And that bite of my cheek still haunts me
Every poya sunset, when I look up at the sky
For a full pappadam to spray some moonbeams – to rekindle that day
When I flew to Australia abandoning my roots
And my taproot seated on a wheelchair
Awakening something deep and meaningful

And love left her echo that day
– never to silence, wither or sleep

And every pappadam is as crispy as her memory……..

Published by

meandererworld (Dilantha Gunawardana)

Dr Dilantha Gunawardana is a molecular biologist, who graduated from the University of Melbourne. He moonlights as a poet. Dilantha wrote his first poem at the ripe age of 32 and now has more than 1700 poems on his blog. His poems have been accepted/published in Forage, Kitaab, Eastlit, American Journal of Poetry and Ravens Perch, among others. He was also awarded the prize for "The emerging writer of the year - 2016" in the Godage National Literary Awards, Sri Lanka for his first collection of poems (Kite Dreams – A Sarasavi Publication), while being shortlisted for the poetry prize. Dilantha is a dual citizen of Sri Lanka and Australia, and shares his experiences from two different cultures. He blogs at - https://meandererworld. wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

