Unpretty (To My Wife – Michelle)

I chose to be unpretty
To be a leper than to be belonged
As I carried my idiosyncrasies and inadequacies
For all to see, in the nakedness
Of my paltry self
– the pauper in me!

I chose to be unpretty
To be an ember and not a jewel
Yet fire kindled on my body

I chose to be unpretty
To be a black orchid amidst meadows of tulips
Yet I was hand-picked by a goth princess

I chose to be unpretty
To be a catamaran to a bevy of yachts
Yet I carried the dreams of a lowly fisherman

I chose to be unpretty
Yet you found me and pealed me off my plague
My beast vanquished by your lips

And now I surrender my all
To a mythical love like no other – what is precious and yours…..
What your eyes failed to see
And what your heart failed to ignore

For the greatest human feat is
The clemency of the heart

To love…….

0227

Author: meandererworld (Dilantha Gunawardana)

Dr Dilantha Gunawardana is a molecular biologist who graduated from the University of Melbourne. He moonlights as a poet. His poems have been accepted/published in Forage, American Journal of Poetry, Kitaab, Eastlit and Ravens Perch. He mixes science with poetry for a living, when what matters is the expression of both DNA and words into something serendipitous. Although an Australian citizen, Dilantha is domiciled in Sri Lanka, his country of birth.

Leave a Reply

